Taking a leave of absence: Royal Canadian Mounted Police pension

During the course of your career with the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP), you may decide to take an unpaid leave of absence (leave without pay) for personal or other reasons. You can find more information about leave without pay and how it can affect your pension entitlements in the Leave without pay information package.

Listed below are some common questions and answers that will help you understand how your pension and insurance benefits may be affected.

Do you continue to contribute to the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Pension Plan during periods of leave without pay? How much do you contribute?

You are required to pay back the first three months of your leave without pay. After that period, you may choose to count or not to count the balance of your leave without pay as pensionable. You don't have to pre-pay contributions required under the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Superannuation Act prior to or during your period of leave. For more information, refer to the Leave Without Pay Information Package.

The amount you contribute to the RCMP Pension Plan depends on the type and duration of your leave.

In most cases, the contribution rate for the first three months of a period of leave without pay is at "single" rate, meaning that you are only required to pay your share of contributions.

For your period of leave after the first three months, you will be required to pay contributions at either "single" or "double" rate (your share plus the employer's share). Further information on contribution rates for specific types of leave without pay can be found in the Leave Without Pay Information Package.

Can you choose not to count your period of leave without pay for pension purposes? What if you change your mind?

You may choose not to count periods of leave without pay after the first three months. This option must be made within the prescribed timeframes and while you are still employed. Further information is available in the Leave Without Pay Information Package.

Even after you've chosen not to count your leave without pay, you can, at a later date, change your mind and request a service buyback. The cost, however, will be higher because the calculation of the required contributions will be based on your salary at the time of the election and interest will be charged. Please refer to the Service buyback package for more information.

Are there limits on how much leave without pay may be counted for pension purposes?

Yes. The Income Tax Act places a maximum of five years restrictions on the total periods of leave without pay that can be treated as pensionable during your career. However, you may also be credited with an additional three years of leave without pay for parenting purposes. More information on the tax implications is available in the Leave Without Pay Information Package.

What payment options are available for your contributions?

You can make lump sum payments for your pension contributions at any time by personal cheque, postal money order, or bank money order. Otherwise, your pension contributions will be recovered by salary deductions when you return to work. It is also possible to pay for a leave without pay period using funds transferred from your personal RRSP. More detail is provided in the Leave Without Pay Information Package.

Are you still covered under your other insurance benefit plans during a period of leave without pay?

You are eligible to continue your coverage under the RCMP Group Life and Accidental Death and Dismemberment plans while on a period of leave without pay (LWOP).

Coverage under the Disability Insurance Plan is mandatory for all active members and will, therefore, continue while you are on a period of LWOP. For information on your continuing coverage and to make arrangements for remitting premiums, please contact Morneau Shepell at 1-800-661-7595.

You are also eligible for continued coverage under the Public Service Health Care Plan (PSHCP) and Public Service Dental Care Plan (PSDCP). Please contact RCMP National Pay Operations for details on how to either continue or cancel your coverage under these plans at 1-866-729-7293.

The following links provide a summary of the conditions and reasons for which your coverage may be continued:

Do you continue to pay your service buyback payments while on leave without pay?

Yes. Service Buyback payments must be made on an on-going basis during the period of your leave without pay. If payments are not made on a semi-monthly basis, you will have different options to repay your default payment; however, the amount to be paid back will include interest. Contact the Government of Canada Pension Centre to learn how your payments should be made.

Do periods of leave without pay count as service in the force?

Yes. You receive service in the force credit for all periods of service with the RCMP, including leave without pay.

Date modified:

Prendre un congé autorisé—Pensions et avantages sociaux de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada

Au cours de votre carrière à la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC), vous pourriez décider de prendre un congé autorisé non payé (congé non payé) pour des raisons personnelles ou pour d'autres raisons. Vous trouverez de plus amples renseignements sur les congés non payés et leur incidence sur vos droits à pension dans la Trousse d'information sur les congés non payés.

Vous trouverez ci après des questions et des réponses qui vous aideront à comprendre l'incidence des congés non payés sur vos prestations de retraite et vos régimes d'assurance.

Continuez-vous à cotiser au régime de pensions de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada pendant les périodes de congé non payé? Quel est le montant de votre cotisation?

Vous êtes tenu de rembourser les trois premiers mois de votre congé non payé. Après cette période, vous pouvez choisir de compter ou non le reste de votre congé non payé comme service ouvrant droit à pension. Vous n'avez pas à payer à l'avance les cotisations nécessaires aux termes de la Loi sur la pension de retraite de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada avant ou pendant votre période de congé. Pour en savoir plus, consultez la Trousse d'information sur les congés non payés.

Le montant que vous devez cotiser au régime de pensions de la GRC dépend du type et de la durée de votre congé.

Dans la plupart des cas, le taux de cotisation simple s'applique aux trois premiers mois d'un congé non payé. Autrement dit, vous ne payez que votre part des cotisations.

Pour le reste de votre congé (après les trois premiers mois), on vous impose un taux simple ou un taux double (votre part des cotisations et celle de l'employeur). Vous trouverez de plus amples renseignements sur les taux de cotisation propres à certains types de congés non payés dans la Trousse d'information sur les congés non payés.

Est-il possible de ne pas faire compter comme ouvrant droit à pension une période de congé non payé, puis de changer d'idée?

Après les trois premiers mois, vous pouvez choisir de ne pas faire compter les périodes de congé non payé. Vous devez faire ce choix dans les délais prescrits et pendant que vous êtes encore au travail. Vous trouverez de plus amples renseignements dans la Trousse d'information sur les congés non payés.

Même après avoir choisi de ne pas compter votre congé non payé comme ouvrant droit à pension, vous pouvez changer d'idée ultérieurement et demander un rachat de service. Cependant, le coût sera plus élevé, car le calcul des cotisations nécessaires sera fondé sur votre salaire au moment de votre choix, et des intérêts seront ajoutés. Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter la Trousse d'information sur le rachat de service.

Existe-t-il un nombre maximal de congés non payés que vous pouvez faire compter comme ouvrant droit à pension?

Oui. La Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu limite à cinq ans la durée maximale des périodes de congé non payé ouvrant droit à pension pendant votre carrière. Cependant, on peut également vous créditer trois ans supplémentaires de congé non payé pour obligations parentales. Vous trouverez de plus amples renseignements sur les répercussions fiscales d'un congé non payé dans la Trousse d'information sur les congés non payés.

Quelles sont les options qui s'offrent à vous pour le paiement de vos cotisations?

Vous pouvez régler à tout moment vos cotisations de retraite en un seul versement par chèque tiré sur un compte personnel ou par mandat postal ou bancaire. Sinon, vos cotisations seront prélevées au moyen de retenues salariales à votre retour au travail. Il est aussi possible que vous soyez autorisé à utiliser des fonds transférés dans votre régime enregistré d'épargne-retraite. Vous trouverez de plus amples renseignements dans la Trousse d'information sur les congés non payés.

Demeurez-vous couvert par vos autres régimes d'assurance pendant une période de congé non payé?

La protection dont vous bénéficiez dans le cadre du régime d'assurance-vie collective et du régime d'assurance décès ou mutilation par suite d'un accident de la GRC peut être maintenue pendant un congé non payé.

La protection dans le cadre du Régime d'assurance-invalidité est obligatoire pour tous les participants actifs. Elle sera maintenue pendant une période de congé non payé. Pour avoir des renseignements sur la protection continue et prendre des dispositions pour régler les primes, veuillez communiquer avec Morneau Shepell au 1-800-661-7595.

Vous pouvez bénéficier d'une protection continue dans le cadre du Régime de soins de santé de la fonction publique et du Régime de soins dentaires de la fonction publique. Veuillez communiquer avec les Services nationaux de rémunération de la GRC, Groupe spécialisé des Opérations de la paye au 1-866-729-7293 pour avoir des détails sur la façon de maintenir votre protection dans le cadre de ces régimes ou de l'annuler.

En cliquant sur les liens suivants, vous aurez un résumé des conditions et des raisons pour lesquelles votre protection peut être maintenue :

Continuez-vous à effectuer vos versements pour le rachat de service pendant un congé non payé?

Oui. Les versements pour le rachat de service doivent être effectués de façon continue pendant un congé non payé. S'ils ne sont pas effectués sur une base mensuelle, il existe différentes options pour rembourser les montants impayés; cependant, des intérêts y seront ajoutés. Pour savoir comment effectuer les paiements, veuillez communiquer avec le Centre des pensions du gouvernement du Canada.

Les périodes de congé non payé comptent elles comme service dans la gendarmerie?

Oui. Vous obtiendrez un crédit de service dans la gendarmerie pour toutes vos périodes de service à la GRC, y compris les périodes de congé non payé.

Date de modification :