When death occurs: Royal Canadian Mounted Police pension

The following questions and answers will provide you with an understanding of potential survivor and child entitlements under the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) Pension Plan. In the event of your death, your survivor or legal representative should immediately notify the Government of Canada Pension Centre.

You may want to know…

Are your family members protected in the event of your death?

Your pension plan offers several types of protection for your family. For example, the survivor of a deceased member may apply for Survivor Benefits.

In addition, eligible children may be entitled to a child allowance. Full-time students between the ages of 18 and 25 are paid directly.

If there is no survivor or eligible child, the RCMP Pension Plan provides for a minimum benefit payable to the designated beneficiary or, in the absence of such a beneficiary, to the deceased member's estate.

Any applicable life insurance and accidental death or dismemberment insurance amounts will be payable to the designated beneficiary. In the absence of a designated beneficiary Great-West Life pays the benefit based on the line of succession for the province in which the plan member lived. Contact Morneau Shepell, the RCMP Insurance Administrator, at 1 800 661-7595 to find out more.

Who is able to claim survivor benefits?

Survivor Benefits are payable to a surviving spouse/common-law partner. In the event that you're separated from your legal spouse, but have a common-law partner who may also qualify for an allowance, the benefit would normally be divided between the two applicants based on the period of cohabitation. Additional information may be obtained by contacting the Government of Canada Pension Centre.

What documentation is required to make a claim for survivor benefits?

A legal spouse must provide a copy of the marriage certificate. A common-law partner is required to provide sworn statements and other evidence that demonstrates cohabitation and the conjugal nature and the period of the relationship. Additional information may be obtained by contacting the Government of Canada Pension Centre.

Are your children entitled to survivor benefits?

Generally speaking, to be eligible your child must be under 18 years of age. However, children between 18 and 25 may receive benefits if they're enrolled full-time in school or another educational institution and have attended continuously since their 18th birthday or the date of your death, whichever occurred later.

A child's benefit is equal to one-fifth of the survivor benefit to a maximum combined amount of four-fifths for all dependent children. If there are more than four children, the maximum combined amount payable may be divided among all the eligible children.

What is payable to the children if there is no survivor benefit?

When there is no survivor benefit payable to a spouse/common-law partner, the child's survivor benefit is two-fifths of the survivor benefit.

Should you inform the Government of Canada Pension Centre if the person you've named as your beneficiary moves?

Yes. In the event of your death, the Pension Centre will need a current address for your beneficiary in order to promptly process the survivor benefit. When you contact the Government of Canada Pension Centre, please have the following ready:

  • Pension number
  • Name of beneficiary
  • Your beneficiary's new address

Please complete another RCMP- GRC 2196E - Naming or Substitution of a Pension Beneficiary form if your named beneficiary predeceases you.

Can your survivors apply for group benefit plans in the event of your death?

Your survivors may be eligible to enroll for coverage under the Public Service Health Care Plan and the Pensioners' Dental Services Plan rules in the event of your death.

Do any of your existing group benefit plans continue for your family after your death?

Public Service Health Care Plan coverage does not automatically continue for a survivor. Plan and enrolment information can be found on the Public Service Health Care Plan website.

Similarly, an individual receiving a survivor or a child's pension benefit must also apply for dental coverage under the Pensioners' Dental Services Plan (PDSP), in order to obtain this benefit. Additional plan and enrolment information can be found on the Pensioners' Dental Services Plan (PDSP) website.

What death benefits are available if your death can be attributed to your service in the force?

If your survivors suspect that your death is a result of your service with the RCMP, they may be entitled to benefits under the Pension Act and the Survivor Income Plan (SIP). The Pension Act is administered by Veterans Affairs Canada and provides a tax free benefit to the spouse and children of RCMP members in the case of a duty-related death. Your survivors should contact Veterans Affairs Canada to find out if they qualify for a benefit under the Pension Act. A favourable decision under the Pension Act also qualifies your survivors to the Survivor Income Plan (SIP). This program provides an income top-up to the spouse and children of RCMP members in the case of a duty-related death.

Date modified:

En cas de décès—Pensions et avantages sociaux de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada

Les questions et les réponses suivantes vous aideront à comprendre les prestations auxquelles votre survivant et vos enfants pourraient avoir droit en vertu du Régime de pensions de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC). Votre survivant ou votre représentant légal devrait informer le Centre des pensions du gouvernement du Canada de votre décès dans les plus brefs délais.

Vous voulez peut-être savoir…

Les membres de votre famille sont-ils protégés à votre décès?

Votre régime de pensions offre plusieurs types de protection à votre famille. Par exemple, le survivant d'un participant décédé peut présenter une demande de prestations au survivant.

De plus, les enfant/personne à charge admissible peuvent avoir droit à une allocation aux enfants. Les versements sont effectués directement aux enfants âgés entre 18 et 25 ans qui sont étudiants à temps plein.

S'il n'existe aucun survivant ni enfant admissible, le Régime de pensions de la GRC prévoit le versement d'une prestation minimale payable au bénéficiaire désigné ou, en l'absence d'un tel bénéficiaire, à la succession du participant décédé.

Tout montant applicable du régime d'assurance-vie collective et d'assurance en cas de décès ou de mutilation par suite d'un accident sera payable au bénéficiaire désigné. En l'absence d'un bénéficiaire désigné, la Great-West Life verse les prestations selon la ligne de succession en vigueur dans la province où vivait le participant au régime. Communiquez avec Morneau Shepell, l'administrateur des régimes d'assurance de la GRC, au 1 800 661-7595 pour en savoir plus.

Qui peut réclamer des prestations au survivant?

Les prestations au survivant sont payables à un conjoint ou à un conjoint de fait survivant. Si vous êtes séparé de votre conjoint en droit, mais cohabitez avec un partenaire qui pourrait également avoir droit à une allocation, la prestation est normalement répartie entre les deux demandeurs, en tenant compte de la période de cohabitation. Pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires, communiquez avec le Centre des pensions du gouvernement du Canada.

Quels documents doivent accompagner une demande de prestations au survivant?

Le conjoint en droit doit fournir une copie du certificat de mariage. Le conjoint de fait doit présenter une déclaration sous serment et d'autres éléments de preuve attestant de la nature conjugale et de la durée de l'union. Pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires, communiquez avec le Centre des pensions du gouvernement du Canada.

Vos enfants sont-ils admissibles aux prestations aux survivants?

En règle générale, pour être admissible un enfant doit avoir moins de 18 ans. Toutefois, les enfants âgés entre 18 et 25 ans peuvent recevoir des prestations s'ils fréquentent à temps plein une école ou tout autre établissement d'enseignement de façon continue depuis leur 18ième anniversaire ou la date de votre décès, selon la date la plus tardive.

Les prestations versées aux enfants équivalent à un cinquième des prestations au survivant jusqu'à concurrence d'un montant maximal combiné correspondant au quatre cinquième de ces prestations pour tous les enfants à charge. Si vous avez plus de quatre enfants, le montant maximum payable peut-être réparti entre tous les enfants admissibles.

Que touchent les enfants si aucune prestation au survivant n'est versée?

Lorsqu'aucune prestation au survivant n'est payable à un conjoint ou à un conjoint de fait, la somme versée à un enfant correspond aux deux cinquième des prestations au survivant.

Le Centre des pensions du gouvernement du Canada doit-il être informé du déménagement de la personne que vous avez désignée à titre de bénéficiaire?

Oui. À votre décès, le Centre des pensions du gouvernement du Canada devra disposer de l'adresse exacte de votre bénéficiaire pour effectuer rapidement le versement des prestations. Lorsque vous communiquez avec le Centre des pensions du gouvernement du Canada, veuillez avoir les renseignements suivants en main :

  • Numéro de pension
  • Nom du bénéficiaire
  • Nouvelle adresse de votre bénéficiaire

Veuillez remplir un nouveau formulaire RCMP- GRC 2196F - Désignation ou changement de bénéficiaire si votre bénéficiaire décède avant vous.

À votre décès, vos survivants peuvent-ils présenter une demande d'adhésion à des régimes d'assurance collective?

À votre décès, vos survivants pourraient s'inscrire au Régime de soins de santé de la fonction publique et  Régime de services dentaires pour les pensionnés : Règlement.

Votre famille pourra-t­elle bénéficier de vos régimes d'assurances collectives, après votre décès?

Un survivant ne conserve pas automatiquement sa protection au titre du Régime de soins de santé de la fonction publique. Les informations sur le régime et l'adhésion se trouvent sur le site we du Régime de soins de santé de la fonction publique.

De la même façon, une personne qui touche des prestations au survivant ou une allocation aux enfants doit également présenter une demande pour bénéficier de la protection offerte par le Régime de services dentaires pour les pensionnés. Pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires sur le régime et l'adhésion, visitez le site Web du Régime de services dentaires pour les pensionnés.

Quelles prestations sont offertes si votre décès peut être attribué à votre service dans la gendarmerie?

Si vos survivants croient que votre décès peut être attribué à votre service dans la GRC, ils pourraient être admissibles à des prestations en vertu de la Loi sur les pensions et en vertu du Plan de prestations des survivants,  La Loi sur les pensions, administrée par Anciens Combattants Canada, prévoit le versement de prestations non imposables au conjoint et aux enfants des employés de la GRC, décédés dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions. Vos survivants devraient communiquer avec les Anciens Combattants Canada pour savoir s'ils sont admissibles à des prestations en vertu de la Loi sur les pensions. S'ils sont admissibles à de telles prestations, ils le seront également au Plan de prestations des survivants. Ce programme prévoit le versement d'un revenu supplémentaire au conjoint et aux enfants d'un membre de la GRC si le décès de ce dernier survient dans l'exercice de ses fonctions.

Date de modification :