Prospective Member

Are you thinking about joining the RCMP? As a member of the RCMP, you automatically become a member of the RCMP Pension Plan and are entitled to group insurance benefits. Knowing more about these plans will give you a better understanding of the compensation package offered to RCMP members.

Listed below are some common questions and answers that may be of interest to you as a prospective member of the RCMP.

Who can become a member of the RCMP Pension Plan?

As a member of the RCMP, you would be automatically enrolled in the RCMP Pension Plan.  Once enrolled, you would begin accumulating pensionable service which would count towards your pension benefit.

You are not engaged as a member of the RCMP until you graduate from Depot, the RCMP training facility. So, your time related to your RCMP training would not be considered pensionable service.

What is the difference between service in the Force and pensionable service?

While you are employed with the RCMP you earn both service in the Force and pensionable service.  The two together determine your benefit eligibility under the RCMP Pension Plan.

In general, service in the Force determines the type of benefit, such as an immediate annuity, while pensionable service determines the amount of the benefit. While a given period of service may or may not be considered pensionable service, all service with the RCMP is considered service in the Force.

Pensionable service with other plans transferred to the RCMP Pension Plan may also be considered as service in the Force, at the discretion of the RCMP.

What would your pension plan include?

The Pension Entitlement Information Package provides a summary of what the plan offers.

Who pays into the RCMP pension plan?

Both you and the RCMP would contribute a certain percentage each year.  These current service contributions may change annually and are determined by Treasury Board Secretariat.

How would your pension be calculated?

Your RCMP pension income would be calculated based on your years and days of pensionable service and your average annual salary for the five (5) consecutive years of highest paid service.

Your age and years of service in the Force would also be taken into consideration when calculating your pension. For more information see the Personalized Pension Tools - Pension Calculator section.

When you retire, your retirement income would generally come from three sources:

  • Your RCMP Pension Plan
  • Government pension plans, such as Old Age Security (OAS), the Canada Pension Plan or Quebec Pension Plan (CPP or QPP)
  • Your personal savings

The Old Age Security benefit is payable to Canadian citizens who meet certain residency criteria. For details, refer to the Old Age Security (OAS) Program on the Service Canada Web site.

The Canada Pension Plan or Quebec Pension Plan provides basic retirement income to Canadian workers.

How are contributions to the RCMP Pension Plan managed and where is the money invested?

The Public Sector Pension Investment Board (PSPIB) manages the contributions in a variety of investments. For more information, visit the Funding of the Pension Plan section of the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat Web site.

Would your family members be protected in the event of your death?

If you have two (2) or more years of pensionable service, your family would be protected under your pension plan in the event of your death.  As a member of the RCMP Pension Plan, your survivors and your eligible children may be entitled to survivor benefits and child allowances and may have coverage under the group insurance plans.

If you have less than two (2) years of pensionable service, your eligible survivors or estate would be entitled to a Return of Contributions plus interest.

What insurance or other benefits would be available to you?

The following plans may be available to you:

  • Basic Health Care: As of April 1, 2013, Regular Members of the RCMP are covered under their Provincial/Territorial Health Care Plans.

  • RCMP Supplemental Health Care Benefits provide Regular Members with coverage for supplementary health and dental services. In addition, eligible members may receive coverage for Occupational Health Care Benefits. Both types of benefits are available at no cost to eligible members with limitations as outlined in the RCMP Benefits Grid. Eligible members should use their Blue Cross Health Identification Card for all supplemental and occupational health care benefits. Regular Members should direct all questions or issues to their appropriate Occupational Health and Safety Services office. Contact information may be found on the internal RCMP InfoWeb.

  • For prospective members who live in provinces or territories where a contribution is required for provincial health care, Employer Contribution to Provincial Health Insurance will explain how your employer shares the contribution.

  • Public Service Dental Care Plan (PSDCP) provides Civilian Members, their dependents, and the dependents of Regular Members with coverage, up to certain limits, for dental service and supply expenses. Coverage under the PSDCP begins after 3 months of continuous employment.

  • Public Service Health Care Plan (PSHCP) provides supplementary health care coverage for Civilian Members, their dependents, and the dependents of Regular Members.

  • RCMP Group Life, Accidental Death and Dismemberment and Disability insurance plans are offered to Regular Members and Civilian Members of the RCMP. The Group Life Insurance Plans are administered by Morneau Shepell on behalf of the RCMP. For more information on available insurances for RCMP Regular and Civilian Members, please refer to the Morneau Shepell website.

What insurance benefits would be available to you when you retire?

  • The Public Service Health Care Plan (PSHCP) coverage is available upon retirement when you are entitled to receive an on-going pension benefit under the RCMP Pension Plan. You must apply for this coverage.

  • Pensioners' Dental Services Plan (PDSP) is an optional plan established by the Government to provide dental services coverage to eligible RCMP pensioners and their eligible dependents. It provides coverage for specific services and supplies that are not covered under a provincial health or dental care plan.

  • RCMP Group Life and Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance plan coverage may continue for retired RCMP members if you are eligible to receive a pension benefit under the RCMP Pension Plan. Detailed information may be found on the Morneau Shepell Web site.

After you retire, would your pension be protected from inflation?

Yes. Your pension would be protected from losing its value as a result of inflation or increases in the cost of living for the rest of your life. Your pension will be adjusted every January 1, based on increases in the Consumer Price Index (CPI).

Would previous federal public service employment count as pensionable service under the RCMP Pension Plan?

You may be able to buy back several types of prior service:

  • Service with the federal public service
  • Service with the Canadian Forces
  • Prior RCMP service

Prior RCMP service would count as service in the Force, if purchased. Most service with the Canadian Forces and with the federal public service does not count as service in the Force.

Would employment outside the federal public service count as pensionable service under the RCMP Pension Plan?

If you were a member of a pension plan with your former employer, there are ways of increasing your pension under the RCMP Pension Plan.

You have two options:

  1. Buy back eligible prior service.
  2. Transfer pensionable service from your former pension plan to the RCMP Pension Plan. This can be done through a pensionable employment "plan to plan" transfer or through a Pension Transfer Agreement, if one exists between your former employer and the RCMP. If not, the RCMP Pension Transfer Agreement Unit and your former employer may be able to negotiate one.

There is a time limit for exercising the PTA option if a PTA is in place. While a pensionable employment buyback or transfer can be done at any time while you are an active member of the RCMP Pension Plan, costs increase with time.

If your employment outside the federal public service was service as a police officer, it may count as service in the Force if all the requirements are met. See service in the Force for more information.

Participant potentiel

Vous songez à entrer au service de la GRC? À titre de membre de la GRC, vous deviendrez automatiquement participant au régime de pensions de la GRC et vous serez admissible à des prestations d'assurance collective. Renseignez vous au sujet du régime de pensions et des régimes d'assurance collective, et vous comprendrez mieux le système de rémunération offert aux membres de la GRC.

Vous trouverez ci dessous les réponses à des questions fréquemment posées qui pourraient vous intéresser en tant que membre potentiel de la GRC.

Qui peut participer au régime de pensions de la GRC?

À titre de membre de la GRC, vous serez automatiquement inscrit au régime de pensions de la GRC. Une fois inscrit, vous commencerez à accumuler du service ouvrant droit à pension qui sera pris en compte dans le calcul de votre pension.

Vous n'êtes pas embauché comme membre de la GRC tant que vous n'avez pas obtenu votre diplôme à la Division Dépôt, le centre de formation de la GRC. Le temps consacré à votre formation à la GRC ne sera donc pas considéré comme du service ouvrant droit à pension.

Quelle est la différence entre une période de service dans la Gendarmerie et une période de service ouvrant droit à pension?

Lorsque vous travaillez pour la GRC, vous accumulez à la fois des années de service dans la Gendarmerie et des années de service ouvrant droit à pension. Ensemble, ces années de service déterminent les prestations auxquelles vous avez droit en vertu du régime de pensions de la GRC.

De façon générale, le service dans la Gendarmerie détermine le type de prestation, comme une pension immédiate, tandis que le service ouvrant droit à pension détermine le montant de la prestation. Alors qu'une période de service donnée peut être considérée ou non comme une période de service ouvrant droit à pension, tout service accompli à la GRC est considéré comme un service dans la Gendarmerie.

Le service ouvrant droit à pension accumulé au titre d'autres régimes et transféré dans le régime de pensions de la GRC peut aussi être considéré comme du service dans la Gendarmerie, si la GRC le juge opportun.

Quelles sont les caractéristiques du régime de pensions?

La Trousse d'information sur le droit aux prestations de retraite fournit un sommaire des avantages que le régime offre.

Qui finance le régime de pensions de la GRC?

La GRC et vous cotisez selon un pourcentage établi chaque année. Les taux de cotisation pour le service courant peuvent varier d'une année à l'autre et sont établis par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor.

Comment votre pension sera-t-elle calculée?

Votre revenu de retraite de la GRC sera calculé en fonction du nombre d'années et de jours de service ouvrant droit à pension que vous aurez accumulés ainsi que de votre salaire annuel moyen des cinq (5) années consécutives les mieux rémunérées.

Votre âge et le nombre d'années de service dans la Gendarmerie que vous aurez accumulées seront aussi pris en compte dans le calcul de votre pension. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la section Outils personnalisés de pension – Calculateur de pension de retraite.

Lorsque vous prenez votre retraite, votre revenu provient généralement de trois sources :

  • le régime de pensions de la GRC
  • les régimes de pension du gouvernement, tels que la Sécurité de la vieillesse, le Régime de pensions du Canada ou le Régime de rentes du Québec
  • vos épargnes personnelles

La prestation de la Sécurité de la vieillesse est versée aux citoyens canadiens qui répondent à certains critères de résidence. Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter la page du programme de la Sécurité de la vieillesse dans le site Web de Service Canada.

Le Régime de rentes du Québec ou le Régime de pensions du Quebec fournit un revenu de retraite de base aux travailleurs canadiens.

Comment les cotisations au régime de pensions de la GRC sont elles gérées, et où sont elles investies?

L'Office d'investissement des régimes de pensions du secteur public gère les cotisations en faisant divers investissements. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter la section Financement du régime de pension du site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor.

Au moment de votre décès, les membres de votre famille bénéficieront-ils d'une protection?

Si, à votre décès, vous comptez au moins deux (2) ans de service ouvrant droit à pension, le régime de pensions offrira une protection à votre famille. Votre survivant et vos enfants admissibles peuvent avoir droit à des prestations au survivant et à des allocations pour enfants au titre du régime de pensions de la GRC, et ils peuvent également bénéficier d'une protection en vertu de vos régimes d'assurance collective.

Si, à votre décès, vous comptez moins de deux (2) ans de service ouvrant droit à pension, vos survivants admissibles, ou votre succession, ont droit à un remboursement des cotisations, majoré des intérêts.

Quelles prestations d'assurance ou autres prestations vous sont offertes?

Vous pourriez être admissible aux régimes suivants :

  • Soins de santé de base : Depuis le 1er avril 2013, les membres réguliers de la GRC sont couverts par leur régime d'assurance-maladie provincial ou territorial.

  • Le régime de soins de santé complémentaire de la GRC offre aux membres réguliers une protection à l'égard des services de santé et des services dentaires complémentaires. En outre, les membres admissibles peuvent bénéficier d'une protection pour les soins de santé au travail. Les deux types de prestation sont offerts gratuitement aux membres admissibles selon les limites indiquées dans le tableau des avantages de la GRC. Les membres admissibles doivent utiliser la carte d'identité de la Croix Bleue pour tous les soins de santé complémentaires et les soins de santé au travail. Pour poser une question ou signaler un problème, les membres réguliers doivent communiquer avec leur bureau des Services de santé et de sécurité au travail. Les coordonnées se trouvent dans le site Web interne de la GRC.

  • En ce qui concerne les participants potentiels qui habitent dans une province ou un territoire où il faut verser une cotisation pour le régime provincial d'assurance maladie, la rubrique Contribution de l'employeur aux régimes provinciaux d'assurance maladie explique comment votre employeur participe au paiement des cotisations.

  • Le Régime de soins dentaires de la fonction publique (RSDFP) offre aux membres civils, à leurs personnes à charge et aux personnes à charge des membres réguliers une assurance couvrant certains soins dentaires et fournitures, jusqu'à concurrence de limites déterminées. La protection au titre du RSDFP débute après trois (3) mois d'emploi continu.

  • Le Régime de soins de santé de la fonction publique offre une protection pour les soins de santé complémentaires aux membres civils, à leurs personnes à charge et aux personnes à charge des membres réguliers.

  • Les régimes d'assurance-vie collective, d'assurance en cas de décès ou de mutilation par accident et d'assurance-invalidité de la GRC sont offerts aux membres réguliers et aux membres civils de la GRC. Les régimes d'assurance vie collective sont administrés par Morneau Shepell pour le compte de la GRC. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les régimes d'assurance offerts aux membres réguliers et civils de la GRC, veuillez consulter le site Web de Morneau Shepell.

Quels régimes d'assurance vous seront offerts à votre retraite?

Après votre départ à la retraite, votre pension sera-elle protégée contre l'inflation?

Oui. Votre pension sera protégée contre les effets de l'inflation ou de l'augmentation du coût de la vie pendant le reste de votre vie. Elle sera rajustée le 1er janvier de chaque année en fonction de la hausse de l'indice des prix à la consommation (IPC).

Est-ce qu'un emploi antérieur à la fonction publique fédérale peut compter comme service ouvrant droit à pension en vertu du régime de pensions de la GRC?

Vous pourrez peut être racheter plusieurs types de service antérieur :

  • service au sein de la fonction publique fédérale
  • service au sein des Forces canadiennes
  • service au sein de la GRC

Un service antérieur au sein de la GRC serait considéré comme un service dans la Gendarmerie s'il était racheté. La plupart des périodes de service au sein des Forces canadiennes et de la fonction publique fédérale ne sont pas considérées comme des périodes de service dans la Gendarmerie.

Est-ce qu'un emploi à l'extérieur à la fonction publique fédérale peut compter comme service ouvrant droit à pension en vertu du régime de pensions de la GRC?

Si vous participiez à un régime de pensions offert par votre ancien employeur, il est possible que vous puissiez faire augmenter votre pension en vertu du régime de pensions de la GRC.

Deux options s'offrent à vous :

  1. racheter du service antérieur admissible ou
  2. transférer au régime de pensions de la GRC le service ouvrant droit à pension acquis en vertu du régime de pension de votre ancien employeur. Cela peut se faire au moyen d'un transfert d'un régime à l'autre ou d'un accord de transfert de pension (ATP), si un tel accord existe entre votre ancien employeur et la GRC. Si ce n'est pas le cas, le Groupe des accords de transfert de pensions de la GRC et votre ancien employeur peuvent peut être conclure un tel accord.

Il y a un délai prescrit pour exercer l'option de l'accord de transfert de pensions, si un tel accord existe. Bien qu'un transfert ou un rachat de service ouvrant droit à pension puisse être effectué à n'importe quel moment pendant que vous êtes un participant actif au régime de pensions de la GRC, les coûts augmentent au fil du temps.

Si votre service à l'extérieur de la fonction publique fédérale a été accompli à titre de policier, il peut compter comme service dans la Gendarmerie si toutes les exigences sont satisfaites. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la section portant sur le service dans la Gendarmerie.