Pension Transfer Agreements

Pension Transfer Agreements (PTA) provide another way of counting your prior pensionable service with an outside employer under the RCMP Pension Plan.  It also provides another way for you to transfer your RCMP Pension Plan credits to an outside employer.

If you leave outside employment to become employed as a member of the RCMP, and a PTA has been negotiated between the two employers, you may be eligible to transfer your accrued pension credits to the RCMP Pension Plan.  Please note that the acquired pension credits under the RCMP Pension Plan as a result of the transfer may not be equivalent to the exporting employer's pension credits.  For example, this may occur when the benefit formula under your previous employer's pension plan was lower than the one under the RCMP Pension Plan.

How do I request that an Agreement be negotiated or start the PTA process?

Transfer in

To initiate the PTA process, upon engagement, complete Enrolment Information and Acknowledgement of Plan Membership form (RCMP-GRC 571).  This form can be obtained from the Government of Canada Pension Centre.

If you are currently a member and wish to initiate the PTA process, please contact the Government of Canada Pension Centre

If an Agreement exists, a letter will be sent with the applicable forms and instructions.  If there is no agreement in place, the RCMP Pension Transfer Agreement Unit will review the request to determine if an agreement can be negotiated and advise accordingly.

Once the PTA is negotiated, the process is as follows:

  1. You will be advised of the amount of funds available for transfer from your former employer, and how much service those funds would purchase under the RCMP Pension Plan;
  2. If you decide to transfer the funds from your former employer you will be required to submit a “Request for Transfer” form which will be provided to you along with the estimate;
  3. The funds will then be transferred from your former employer; and
  4. If applicable, an estimate of the cost to purchase the period of service not covered by the transfer will be provided to you.

Transfer out

It is important to note that a Transfer out is only possible if you have not received any benefit from the RCMP Pension Plan.  If you choose this option, pension payments will not commence.  If a PTA is not negotiated, retroactive pension payments will be paid without interest.  Your insurance benefits will also be impacted.

If you are currently looking to transfer RCMP pension credits to your new employer and a PTA is currently in place, you must contact your employer to complete the appropriate forms to initiate the transfer process.

If a PTA with your new employer does not exist, inform your new employer that if they wish to initiate PTA negotiations, they must write to the RCMP Pension Transfer Agreement Unit confirming that:

  • they are interested in entering into a PTA;
  • their plan is registered under the Income Tax Act; and,
  • they have at least ten active members.

The address for the RCMP Pension Transfer Agreement Unit is:

RCMP Pension Transfer Agreement Unit
73 Leikin Drive, Mailstop #31
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0R2

It should be noted that no action will be taken by the RCMP Pension Transfer Agreement Unit unless a request to negotiate a PTA is received directly from your new employer.

Accords de transfert de pensions

Les accords de transfert de pensions (ATP) sont une autre façon de calculer votre période de service ouvrant droit à pension effectuée pour le compte d'un employeur externe en vertu du régime de retraite de la GRC. Ils constituent également un autre moyen de transférer vos droits accumulés au titre du régime de retraite de la GRC à celui d'un employeur externe.

Si vous quittez votre emploi externe pour un poste au sein de la GRC et que les deux employeurs ont négocié un ATP, vous pouvez être admissible au transfert des droits accumulés au titre de votre ancien régime de pension vers le régime de retraite de la GRC. Il se pourrait toutefois que les droits à pension acquis en vertu du régime de retraite de la GRC par suite du transfert ne correspondent pas aux droits accordés par l'ancien employeur. À titre d'exemple, une telle situation se produit lorsque la formule de calcul des prestations de votre ancien régime est moins avantageuse que celle du régime de retraite de la GRC.

Comment puis-je demander que l'on négocie un ATP ou entreprendre le processus en ce sens?

Transfert au régime de retraite de la GRC

Pour entreprendre le processus d'ATP, compléter le formulaire Renseignements sur l'adhésion et confirmation de la participation au régime RCMP-GRC 571.  Ce formulaire est disponible auprès du Centre des pensions du gouvernement du Canada.

Si vous être déjà un membre et désirer entreprendre le processus d'ATP, veuillez contacter le Centre des pensions du gouvernement du Canada.

Si un ATP est en place, une lettre accompagnée d'instructions et des formulaires applicables sera envoyée. Si aucun ATP n'a été établi, le groupe d'accord de transfert de pensions de la GRC examinera la demande pour déterminer si un tel accord peut être négocié et vous avisera en conséquence.

Une fois l'ATP négocié, le processus est le suivant :

  1. Vous serez informé par votre ancien employeur du montant des fonds pouvant être transférés et vous serez informé du service que ces fonds permettraient de racheter en vertu du régime de retraite de la GRC.
  2. Si vous décidez de transférer les fonds à partir du régime de votre ancien employeur, vous devrez lui soumettre le formulaire de demande de transfert, qui vous sera remis avec votre estimation.
  3. Les fonds seront alors transférés depuis le régime de votre ancien employeur.
  4. S'il y a lieu, une estimation du coût de rachat de la période de service n'étant pas visée par le transfert vous sera fournie.

Transfert à un régime de retraite externe

Il est important de noter qu'un ATP à l'extérieur de la GRC n'est possible que si vous n'avez pas reçu de bénéfice du Régime de retraite de la GRC.  Si vous choisissez cette option, vos paiements de rente ne débuteront pas.  Si aucun ATP n'est finalisé, vos paiements de rente seront payés rétroactivement sans intérêt.  Vos prestations d'assurance seront également affectées.

Si vous envisagez actuellement de transférer vos droits à pension de la GRC à votre nouvel employeur et qu'un ATP est actuellement en place, vous devez communiquer avec votre nouvel employeur pour remplir les formulaires adéquats en vue d'entamer le processus de transfert.

Si aucun ATP n'a été conclu avec votre nouvel employeur, indiquez à ce dernier que s'il souhaite entreprendre des négociations pour l'établissement d'un tel accord, il doit écrire au groupe d'accord de transfert de pensions de la GRC pour confirmer :

  • qu'il est intéressé à conclure un ATP;
  • que son régime est enregistré en vertu de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu;
  • qu'il a au moins 10 membres actifs.

Coordonnées du groupe d'accord de transfert de pensions de la GRC :

Groupe d'accord de transfert de pensions de la GRC
73, promenade Leikin, arrêt postal no 31
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0R2

À noter qu'aucune mesure ne sera prise par le groupe d'accord de transfert de pensions de la GRC avant d'avoir reçu directement du nouvel employeur une demande de négociation visant un ATP.