Indexing Rate

The indexing rate for 2018 is 1.6%.

The indexing (pension increase) of Royal Canadian Mounted Police Pension Plan benefits is governed by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Superannuation Act (RCMPSA) and the Supplementary Retirement Benefits Act (SRBA).

Pension increases for retired members and their survivors are calculated each year using Consumer Price Index (CPI) data published by Statistics Canada. In accordance with the SRBA, the increase is based on a comparison of the CPI average for the twelve-month period ending September 30th to the same period in the previous year. The rates for the last three months of the year will be included in next year’s calculation. The calculation of the increase is payable from January.

Outlined below are the data used to calculate the 2018 pension increase.

Month/Year CPIFootnote * % Month/Year CPIFootnote * %
October 2015 127.2 October 2016 129.1
November 2015 127.1 November 2016 128.6
December 2015 126.5 December 2016 128.4
January 2016 126.8 January 2017 129.5
February 2016 127.1 February 2017 129.7
March 2016 127.9 March 2017 129.9
April 2016 128.3 April 2017 130.4
May 2016 128.8 May 2017 130.5
June 2016 129.1 June 2017 130.4
July 2016 128.9 July 2017 130.4
August 2016 128.7 August 2017 130.5
September 2016 128.8 September 2017 130.8
Total 1,535.2 Total 1,558.2
Monthly Average 127.9 Monthly Average 129.9

The pension increase for 2018 is calculated by subtracting the monthly average for the first period (October 2015 to September 2016) from the monthly average for the second period (October 2016 to September 2017). The amount is then divided by the monthly average for the first period and finally multiplied by 100, as follows:

129.9 - 127.9 = 2

(2 ÷ 127.9) × 100 = 1.6% (indexing rate for 2018)

Footnote

Footnote *

The Consumer Price Index for Canada, All-items CPI, not seasonally adjusted, September 2017, Statistics Canada, Catalogue no. 62-001-X, monthly.

Return to footnote * referrer

Taux d'indexation

Le taux d’indexation pour 2018 s’élève à 1,6 %.

L’indexation des prestations (l’augmentation de la pension) du régime de pensions de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada est régie par la Loi sur la pension de retraite de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (LPRGRC) et par la Loi sur les prestations de retraite supplémentaires (LPRS).

Les augmentations de la pension des participants retraités et de leurs survivants sont calculées chaque année à l’aide de l’Indice des prix à la consommation (IPC), publié par Statistique Canada. Conformément à la LPRS, le calcul de l’augmentation repose sur la comparaison entre la moyenne de l’IPC pour la période de douze mois prenant fin le 30 septembre et la moyenne de l’IPC pour la période de douze mois précédant celle qui vient de s’écouler. Les taux des trois derniers mois de l’année seront compris dans le calcul de la prochaine année. L’augmentation calculée est payable à compter de janvier.

Les données suivantes ont servi à calculer l’augmentation des pensions de retraite pour l’année 2018.

Mois/Année IPCNote de bas de page * Mois/Année IPCNote de bas de page *
Octobre 2015 127,2 Octobre 2016 129,1
Novembre 2015 127,1 Novembre 2016 128,6
Décembre 2015 126,5 Décembre 2016 128,4
Janvier 2016 126,8 Janvier 2017 129,5
Février 2016 127,1 Février 2017 129,7
Mars 2016 127,9 Mars 2017 129,9
Avril 2016 128,3 Avril 2017 130,4
Mai 2016 128,8 Mai 2017 130,5
Juin 2016 129,1 Juin 2017 130,4
Juillet 2016 128,9 Juillet 2017 130,4
Août 2016 128,7 Août 2017 130,5
Septembre 2016 128,8 Septembre 2017 130,8
Total 1 535,2 Total 1 558,2
Moyenne mensuelle 127,9 Moyenne mensuelle 129,9

Pour calculer l’augmentation des pensions pour l’année 2018, on soustrait la moyenne mensuelle de la première période (d’octobre 2015 à septembre 2016) de la moyenne mensuelle de la deuxième période (d’octobre 2016 à septembre 2017). Le résultat obtenu est ensuite divisé par la moyenne mensuelle de la première période et enfin multiplié par 100 :

129,9 - 127,9 = 2

(2 ÷ 127,9) × 100 = 1,6 % (taux d’indexation pour 2018)

Note de bas de page

Note de bas de page *

Indice des prix à la consommation pour le Canada, IPC d’ensemble non désaisonnalisé, septembre 2017, Statistique Canada, no. 62-001-X au catalogue, publication mensuelle.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page *